Goal: $000,000
Raised: $000,000
000 supporters
0 days left

Fund This Project


* statistics are not in real-time and may take 1-2 days to update

UPDATE: There is a book of condolences that will be sent to the family of Dr. Forough Khadem. The book will be in the Partnerships and Innovation Offices in SmartPark on the University of Manitoba Fort Garry campus until Wednesday, February 5th during normal business hours for those who wish to sign.  Feel free to drop by, no appointment required.

The Dr. Forough Khadem Scholarship recognizes outstanding international female graduate students in science, technology, engineering and math disciplines, coming to Canada to further their education and to make the world a better place. 
This scholarship is provided by an initial commitment of annual funding by Mitacs to support the first two scholarship recipients. The establishment of an endowment with contributions from friends, colleagues, and partner organizations will support the scholarship in perpetuity.  


The scholarship has been set up to honour the life, spirit and work of Dr. Forough Khadem who came to Canada from Iran to pursue her PhD in immunology at the University of Manitoba. Dr. Forough was a passenger on Flight PS752 when it crashed in Tehran on January 8, 2020, leaving no survivors. The scholarship will be presented to an international woman graduate student at either the Master’s or PhD level, accepted into a University of Manitoba program within the STEM disciplines, who demonstrates leadership and a desire to have an impact on the world through her science, and who embodies a pioneering spirit. The scholarship will be presented to an international female scholar coming to Canada to pursue opportunities not available in her home country, and who is seeking to overcome challenges/barriers of her own national context. 


The scholarship will be presented to one scholar for the 2020-21 academic year, renewable for one year, in the amount of $15,000 per year. One additional scholar will be selected in each subsequent academic year.


Project Supporters

Iman Yahyaie 
Samira Ahmadi
Zsuzsanna Papp 
Wajihah Mughal 
Yvette Shang
Samantha Pauls
Azin Khafipour
Andrea Legary
Deepak Upreti
Hana Vakili 
V Bhat
Janine Harasymchuk
Ghazaleh Ashrafi
Joseph Belfontaine
Koko Bate Agborsangaya 
Jacquie Schwartz
Qingdong Guan
Joelle Boisvert
Kira Callahan
Fatima Bahir
Elizabeth Wall-Wieler
Jason Meyer
Aaron Marshall
Karen Morrow
Nathan Peters
Chris Johnson
Nasim Norouzi
Nipun Jayachandran
Holly Cole
Diane Gray
Christina Weise
Xavier Lieben Louis
Lianyu Shan
Amirmasoud Amirkabiri
Sandrine Lafarge
ErinRose Handy
Eftekhar Eftekharpour
Soheila Karimi
Meghan Azad
Lauren Mercier
Emelia Nyarku
Catherine Charette
Ping Jia
Siamak Faez
Kian Abbasnezhadi
Brent Wennekes
Heather Young 
Joyce Slater
Zhirong Mou
Hope Anderson
Jay Haase
Michael Smith
John Doering
Sara Sadri
Jie Wang
Gisele Verrier
Peisan Lew
Thomas Murooka 
Derek Earl
Forrest Parlee
Rushita Bagchi
Sarah Petersen
Janice Dodd
Carolyn Weiss, Dr. at Meridian 
Chiropractic + Health Centre
John Hodgert 
Carol Duma
Renee Douville
Allison Forsythe 
Wan Koh
Abdelilah Soussi Gounni
Anisa Akhtar
Sonia Charran
Rachel Erdmann
Louie Ghiz at New Media Manitoba